Latest News
    Tech Info
    NHRA Divisions
    Join NHRA
    Hall of Fame
    LODRS Contng
    Summit Contng
    Summit ET Series
   Youth Racing
   Chassis Inspector

Matt Levonas, Director
8412 Myers Rd E #305
Bonney Lake, WA 98391

Ph: (253) 446-6594
Fax (253) 446-6683

Champions Crowned at 2015 Northwest Awards Ceremony


Over 320 were on hand as the 2015 NHRA Northwest Division Champions were crowned during the annual Land of the Leaders Awards Ceremony held at the Seattle Airport Marriott Hotel.  Champions from the Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, Summit Racing Series, Summit Junior Drag Racing League, Northwest National Open Series, and Land of the Leaders ET Challenge Series were honored along with special award winners from across the division.


One of the highlights of the evening was the standing ovation Gracious Lady recipient Linda Schulz received.  Linda was honored with the award for all the selfless contributions she has made through the years throughout the Northwest Division. 


Also receiving Special awards were Dylan Hough (Junior Driver of the Year), Matt Keilman (ET Driver of the Year), Lane Cavar (Rookie of the Year), Mike Shannon (Super Class Driver of the Year), Jeff Lane (Sportsman Driver of the Year), Joey Severance (Top Alcohol Driver of the Year), Chris Cannon (Super Class Mechanic), and Ken Lantz (Sportsman Mechanic).


Inducted into the Northwest Hall of Fame was ’74 Top Fuel Champion Gary Beck who got his start in the sport with Seattle’s Emperors Car Club.  Partnered with Gaines Markley, Beck wheeled a gas dragster to a division Super Eliminator title before getting his Top Fuel license and going on to win the US Nationals three times.


Joining Beck as a 2015 Inductee was northwest Super Stock legend Dave Wren.  After getting his start in Stock classes at various tracks throughout Montana, Wren jumped into the newly formed Super Stock class in 1967 and would go on to win the first Division 6 Championship for the class that year.  After another successful Championship run in ’69, Wren secured factory sponsorship from Mopar for the ’70 season and would go on to win the ’70, ’71, and 72 Championships as well in the class.  Wren also completed in Pro Stock as well during the time picking up wins in that class as well.


Lucas Oil Series Champions

Joey Severance – Top Alcohol Dragster

Jeff Lane- Comp Eliminator

Mark Faul – Super Stock

Brad Burton – Stock Eliminator

Mike Shannon - Super Comp

Mike Shannon – Super Gas

Todd Simms – Super Street


Rig Rentals Top Dragster Champion

Andy Morris


RH Race Cars Top Sportsman Champion

Darryn O’Connor


Sportsman Motorcycle presented by Harley Davidson

Jake Havens


Northwest Shootout Series presented by C&C Olympic Heating & Lindsey Electric

Todd Simms – Super Street

Steve Laskowske – Super Gas

Mike Dalrymple – Super Comp


1-800-Truck-Help Stock/Super Stock Top Qualifier Champions

Sean Cour – Super Stock

Steve Horton – Stock Eliminator


Summit Racing Series ET Finals Champions

Ed Cutler – Super Pro Division Champion

Robert Steffen – Pro ET Division Champion

Adam Tabor – Sportsman Division Champion

Joe Lind – Bike/Sled Division Champion

Ryan Widhalm – High School Champion

Al Chinn – Super Pro ET Finals Champion

Dave Bronec – Pro ET Finals Champion

Brian Seaburg – Sportsman ET Finals Champion

Rick Newport – Bike/Sled ET Finals Champion

Woodburn Dragstrip – Team Champion

Summit Junior Drag Racing League Northwest Champions

Cooper Chun – Junior Thunder Division Champion

Jake Jones – Junior Lightning Division Champion

Tanner Gaetz – Junior Thunder Division Champion

Yeshua Wilcox – Junior Thunder Division Champion


Northwest Division National Open Champions

Carson Campbell – Junior Thunder

Yeshua Wilcox – Junior Lightning

William Nitta – Bike/Sled

Gerald Patzer – Sportsman

Peter Oliviero – Pro ET

Mark Campbell - Super Pro

John Appleby – Super Street

Darrel Smith – Super Gas

Kurt Schultz – Super Comp

Peter Oliviero  -Stock/SS Combo

Top Comp – Terry Wilcox


Land of the Leaders ET Challenge Champions

Ramon Vincent – Junior Storm

Dylan Hough – Junior Thunder

Zach Toth – Junior Lightning

Terry Holloway – Bike/Sled

Brian Thompson - Sportsman

Jason Thomas – Pro ET

William Vest – Super Pro


Special Awards

Linda Schulz – Janet Lang Gracious Lady Award

Joey Severance – Top Alcohol Driver of the Year

Jeff Lane – Sportsman Driver of the Year

Mike Shannon – Super Class Driver of the Year

Matt Kielman – Mel Bresaw Memorial ET Driver of the Year

Dylan Hough – Don Rhyne Memorial ET Driver of the Year

Lane Cavar – Rod Hoerner Rookie of the Year

Chris Cannon – Super Class Mechanic of the Year

Ken Lantz – Sportsman Mechanic of the Year


2015 Hall of Fame Inductees

Gary Beck

Dave Wren

Division 6 News Archives
Division 6 Latest News